Congratulations to the 2017 SSFF

Award Winning Filmmakers! 

Check out the scenes from SSFF 2017

Special Achievement Award:

Eyes in the Back of Her Head 

by Madison Durand 


Best Newcomer Award:

Laura Pepper

Diana Porter


Best Student Film:

The Darlings


Best Experimental Film:

The Stag's Mirror


Women in Film Award:

Lou Simon


William Gerrity Award:

Anthony Ambrosino


Short Film Awards


Best Screenplay:

Bob Celli (Brooklyn in July)

Best Actor Short:  

Ryan McParland (Imbolc)

Best Actress Short: 

Ava Fratus (Snowflake

Best Director Short: 

Shelagh Rowan-Legg (Flow)

Best International Horror:


Best Horror Short:

Others Like You

Best International Short:


Best Comedy Short:

Nobel Prize


Best New England Short:

Where We Meet

Best Short:



Documentary Awards


Best Director:

Colin and Laura Graham (Outcaste: The House that Carol Built)

Best Documentary:

Disregard the Vampire


Feature Awards


Best Screenplay:

Lenny Schwartz (Long Night in a Dead City)

Best Actor:

Sam Saunders (Dogged)

Best Actress:

Anna Rizzo (On the 7th Date)

Best Director Feature: 

Manny Serrano (Theta States)

Best Comedy Feature:

On the 7th Date

Best International Film:

Three The Movie

Best Horror Film:


Best New England Film:

Long Night in a Dead City

Best Feature:




Best Of Festival Awards


Best Of Festival Short:

Sad Ones

Best of Festival Documentary:

Outcaste: The House That Carol Built

Best of Festival Feature:

Theta States

The Shawna Shea Film Festival celebrates independent films and the people who make them. Established in 2012 as a program of the Shawna E. Shea Memorial Foundation Inc., SSFF honors Shawna's unique independent spirit by bringing audiences films that share the same quality. 


The Shawna Shea Film Festival is a program of the Shawna E. Shea Memorial Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit public charity. Visit our website at